As I wrote earlier, it’s not easy to have a healthy breakfast every day, especially when someone wants to eat less meat or is becoming a vegetarian. I wrote about peanut butter already and in this part I’d like to share some other easy “recipes” and tricks for a quick and healthy breakfast.

  1. Banana pancakes

This recipe is super easy and I was sure that everyone knew it but turns out that’s not the case. So here’s how you make it:
Mash half a ripe banana with a fork, beat an egg, mix it and fry it like a pancake. Done! It’s so simple and delicious and it also fills you up. I serve it with fresh or preserved fruits or jam and often sprinkle them with different nuts and seeds.

  1. Toast with honey

Another extremely simple breakfast idea is to toast some bread of your choice, put some butter on it (you can replace butter with vegan options), drizzle honey on top and you are ready to go. It couldn’t get any simpler yet everyone looks at me when I make it like I was an alien. It’s perfect with coffee.

  1. Oatmeal/Porridge

Another classic, simple yet filling breakfast. I know you can buy it in those tiny sachets or even in plastic cups but I really dislike those types. Oatmeal is one of the easiest things to make and it’s much better when you cook it yourself. The trick is to add enough water or milk to get a creamy consistency. Once it is cooked you can add fruits, cocoa powder, cinnamon, coconut, nuts and seeds, honey, preserves, jams or anything that you like. My mum puts slices of banana in it before she cooks it but I prefer to add them when the oat is cooked. My advice is to experiment with your oatmeal and find the toppings that you like best.

  1. Omelettes

You can use eggs or replace them with tofu or chickpeas. Whichever version you choose add some vegetables to make your breakfast more filling.

  1. Muffins and cookies

I like to prepare healthy (and sometimes not that healthy) cookies and muffins for breakfast. When I bake cookies I makes small balls and put them in the freezer, so when I want some for breakfast I just have to take a them out and put them in the oven for a few minutes. I haven’t tried freezing muffin batter but I did it with muffins that were baked and it worked. I sometimes freeze rolls and bund as well.

  1. Muesli with milk or yoghurt

Another simple choice that is healthier than sugary cereals. I like to make my own mix and add different seeds,  nuts and fruits.

  1. Avocado sandwich

I love avocado. It tastes amazing and it’s rich in fat so it gives me enough energy to start my day. I sometimes make avocado cream but when I’m lazy I just slice it up and put it on bread.

There are a lot of recipes on Pinterest but most of them are a bit too ambitious for an average morning when every minute counts. I hope that these simple ideas will help you so you won’t miss breakfast again.

Leave a Reply

