I’m sure everyone has heard of the importance of breakfast, yet most people neglect it. As for me, I didn’t even have breakfast for a long time but about 12 years ago my life, or at least my eating habits changed completely. My sister took me to “Bodies… The Exhibition”, which was quite shocking at first but as I got used to the idea of seeing human bodies and organs it got more and more interesting. This is where I found out about the importance of breakfast and how morning meals can improve our memories. I’m extremely forgetful so I decided to help my brain with food in the morning.

I have tried all kinds of different breakfasts but I still prefer the “western ones” to Asian. When I lived in Vietnam I got used to eating soup and rice for breakfast but nothing can beat a good Italian pastry with coffee or a plate full of delicious treats. There’s one thing I don’t like about it, though. I get it… we’re in a hurry but a piece of cold cut on a slice of bread is not very appetising. Most people don’t eat fruits or veggies for breakfast, on the other hand we eat a lot of meat in the form of sausages, bacon and cold cuts. When someone decides to eat less meat or wants to become a vegetarian breakfasts can be challenging, so I decided to write down some very simple “recipes” and tips to spice up our mornings.

In this first part I’m going to write about peanut butter, which is quite a new thing here in Europe. I remember, when during one of my visits to America I tried peanut butter for the first time. It was shocking! I almost spit it out. I expected something sweet and chocolaty like Nutella but it was nothing of the sort. It was more salty than sweet and it made my mouth so dry I struggled to swallow it. In short it was a huge disappointment (and I know a lot of Europeans felt the same way) but just like others I learned to like it. Now, I’m such a huge fan that I make my own peanut butter.

I know, there are a ton of recipes out there so I’m not going to write down mine. but I’d like to give some tips on how to use peanut butter. All these “recipes” are super simple but I hope they will help you to find new ways of using peanut butter.

Peanut butter-banana toasty
You’ll need two, thin slices of bread, peanut butter and a banana. Spread a generous amount of peanut butter on the first slice of bread, slice some bananas and put them on top of the bread the cover it with the second slice. But the sandwich in a toasty maker or in a pan and toast it till the bread has a nice brownish colour and the peanut butter is melted.

You can replace the banana with other fruits. I tried it with thin apple slices, honey and cinnamon and it was delicious.

Peanut butter wraps
I used tortilla wraps for this but you can make it with European pancakes or other wraps as well. Toast the wrap, spread some peanut butter on it, then add bananas or other fruits and fold/roll it up. You can put it back to the pan for a few minutes to let everything “melt” together. It’s perfect for on the go.

While I haven’t seen these two recipes anywhere else (although, I’m probably not the only one making these things) you’ve probably heard about putting peanut butter on fruits and smoothes, which are also great ways to brighten your mornings up. I’m always looking for new and easy breakfast ideas so feel free to share your super recipes and tips in the comments down below.

Leave a Reply

