I have mentioned it already that I’m working on my first ever capsule wardrobe. But what’s a capsule wardrobe and why do I need it in my life? It all comes down to minimalism.

I have only met the term ‘minimalism’ but I’ve been practising it for a while. When I moved back to Hungary from London I had to throw out a lot of my stuff. Most of the things had no value, were damaged or I simply stopped using them. That’s when I realised how much stuff we have that we don’t need. As soon as I put my suitcase down in my old room I started de cluttering. I got rid of a lot of my old clothes and some other knick-knacks but it still wasn’t enough.

The problem is that I travel a lot and I am simply unable to pack everything I need so I end up buying stuff. When I move again I don’t want to leave these new things behind so I send them home or squeeze them into my suitcases. Then, when I get home I realise that I have 6 sweaters and no room in my wardrobe…

I found the solution while researching zero waste lifestyle. I should have known that I was not the only one who’s struggling with the same problem… Anyway, I have learned a lot since this discovery and I feel I’m on track now. With my own experience and the tips and tricks I found I will be able to create my own capsule wardrobe.

The idea is to minimise your clothes to 33 pieces per season. This includes tops, bottoms, shoes, bags and other accessories but excludes underwear, sportswear and things that you wear at home. Having a capsule wardrobe is great because you know exactly what you have and working with limited resources teaches you to be more creative and helps you find your style.

There are several reasons why I decided to give it a go. One of them is to have a better organised wardrobe and make better use of what I already have. I’ve already reorganised my clothes and worked out a system that works for me. First, I took everything out and kept only what I liked. I still have a few pieces that I’m not sure about so I turned the hangers and now the hooks are pointing towards me. It makes it more difficult to just take something out without thinking and it shows me which clothes I wear. At the end of the season I will get rid of the things that I didn’t touch. I want to give a new chance to some of my clothes, especially that I’m trying to minimise my shopping and I think it’s a great way to inspire myself to use what I have and to see what I don’t need.

Another advantage is that I can get more creative. I tend to wear the same things and I’m sure I’m not alone but with a capsule wardrobe I hope to make better use of my clothes and learn more about my style.

The main advantage however is the environmental impact. I’m not saying that I can change the world alone but a little goes a long way. The fashion industry is the second largest polluter in the world after oil. Shocking, right? And if pollution wasn’t enough most of the workers in textile and garment factories work under terrible conditions for ridiculously low wages. I know not everyone can afford expensive eco friendly  clothes but we do have a choice as consumers. By choosing quality over quantity or buying second-hand we can not only do good for the planet but we can also save money. I want to spend my hard earn money on travelling not stuff that I don’t need.

As for the number of my clothes, I’m not sure yet. I want to be flexible as following rules is not my strength but I’m definitely going to minimise my wardrobe as much as possible. It will help a lot with travelling.

Leave a Reply

